On June 1,
1742, The Fellowship Club was formed by a group of Boston sea captains. The club receive a charter 12 years later
from the Royal Governor with the directive to make navigation safer and to
relieve members and their families of distress when adverse accidents
occurred. In 1809, the club changed its
name to The Boston Marine Society.
Photo collage, 18 ½ x 21 ¾, featuring the 1886 group of members along with a copy of the organization’s Constitution and Laws containing a brief history of the society for one hundred years and a list of members (1861). This particular copy apparently belonged to Capt. Erastus B. Chase. The collage contains photos of 190 members, each numbered and identified at the bottom. Some wonderful names included, such as Nickerson, Crocker, Eldgridge and Robert Forbes with many hardworking clipper ship captains, such as Cape Cod’s Laban Howes.
The collage has some staining at the bottom, in the margins and on the verso with foxing at the top edge. Pamphlet is lightly chipped and some expected soiling. Both pieces in good condition and a wonderful piece of maritime Americana.
Everything we sell is guaranteed authentic forever to the original buyer. We also offer a 30-day return policy. If you discover a problem or are dissatisfied with an item, please contact us immediately. Our goal is to please every customer. We are pleased to be members of The Manuscript Society, Universal Autograph Collectors Club and The Ephemera Society. [PA 107]