• William Seward, Confederates Geyer, Bradbury, Whig Foot -- Five Autographs

    Free Shipping!
    There is only 1 item left in stock.

    Offering a wonderful assemblage of five political autographs contained on one sheet, including that of President Lincoln’s Secretary of State William H. Seward, who was slated to be assassinated when Lincoln was shot, Confederate Henry S. Geyer, early Whig Solomon Foot, Democratic U.S. Senator James W. Bradbury and member of the Provincial Confederate Congress Walker Brooke.


    The autographs are boldly signed on a 5 ½ x 6 sheet.  Detailed background is included on each along with a fine engraving of Seward.


    WILLIAM H. SEWARD (May 16, 1801-October 10, 1872) was the United States Secretary of State from 1861-1869.  He previously served as Governor of New York.  Seward was an avid opponent of slavery and a dominant figure in the Republican Party.  His firm stance against foreign intervention in the Civil War prevented France and Britain from entering the conflict.  Seward was a target in the Lincoln assassination and was seriously wounded by conspirator Lewis Powell.  Seward remained loyal in his post through the presidency of Andrew Johnson. He negotiated the Alaska Purchase in 1867 and supported Johnson during his impeachment.


    HENRY S. GEYER (December 9, 1790 – March 5, 1859) was a politician, lawyer and soldier from Missouri who was born in Frederick, MD. During the War of 1812, Geyer served as a first lieutenant in the 36th Regiment, Maryland Infantry from 1813 to 1815, reaching the position of paymaster.  He later practiced law. He was appointed captain of the first military company west of the Mississippi River. Geyer was involved in a duel with Captain George Kennerby. The two met at Bloody Island and Kennerby was struck in the leg. They agreed to finish the duel but friends intervened and Geyer and Kennerby became friends for life.  Geyer was a member of the convention of Missouri and helped to write the first Missouri constitution.  While in the Senate, Geyer voted for the Kansas-Nebraska bill, demonstrating his pro-slavery views.


    WALKER BROOKE (December 25, 1813 – December 18,1869) was a U.S. Senator from Mississippi. He was elected as a Whig to fill a vacancy. Not a candidate for reelection, he was elected a member of the Provincial Confederate Congress from Mississippi and was appointed a member of the permanent military court of the Confederate States during the Civil War.


    JAMES W. BRADBURY (June 10, 1802 – January 6, 1901) was a U.S. Senator from Maine, serving as a Democrat from 1847 to 1853.  Prior to that, he was a member of the Baltimore Convention of 1844, which nominated James K. Polk for the presidency.


    SOLOMON FOOT (November 19, 1802 – March 28, 1866) was a member of the House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate from Vermont. He entered politics as a Whig and served in several offices, including the Vermont House of Representatives, delegate to the state constitutional conventions of 1833 and 1836 and Rutland County State’s Attorney. He was also Vermont’s Speaker of the House.  Foot was noted for his opposition to the Mexican-American War and the extension of slavery.  During the Civil War, Foot was President pro tempore of the United States Senate.


    The sheet has some light bleed through of print type, likely resulting from being stored in a publication. Else very good with dark, bold ink signatures and a superb grouping.


    Everything we sell is guaranteed authentic forever to the original buyer. We also offer a 30-day return policy. If you discover a problem or are dissatisfied with an item, please contact us immediately. Our goal is to please every customer.  We are pleased to be members of The Manuscript Society, Universal Autograph Collectors Club and The Ephemera Society. [P103]